Visiting Kuwait

It feels the same… but I can sense the difference. The last time I was in the middle east was like eleven years ago. Now I am back in the same area but in a different country but there’s this same kind of feeling around here – the middle-east feeling.

Now, sitting in my brother’s apartment, I can see the tall apartment complexes, the desert and the sea all at the same time.. takes me back to the country I lived in when I was a kid. It brings back so many memories, good and bad, yet there is nostalgia in the air. The city is not as big as Jeddah, and yet the sight of the sea… aah! I am actually sitting right below Iraq! OMG! IRAQ! That.. is.. like.. umm.. oh.. can’t think of any proper words to describe that feeling.

I miss Pakistan, my relatives, my home, my friends, and the city of lights already! I just landed in the morning!

Though the nostlagic feeling is huge BUT the feeling that one is not amoungst his/her own countrymen is yet overwhelming! There’s nothing like the smell of the soil of ones own homeland, the sound of the gushing waves, and what if it rains in Karachi while we’re here… NAHIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIN!

5 thoughts on “Visiting Kuwait

  1. ummm… well.. I think I’d call it nostalgia… I guess… I mean I grew up in KSA, so back in the same region, I feel I breathe somewhat the same air…

  2. I can understand your feelings as I myself experience it too much while I’m away from Pakistan.

    In foreign, every time it rains, I try to distort my nose in thoughts the rain might bring the scent as its in sensed in Pakistan, but unfortunately it doesn’t. I feel fantastic to be in Pakistan presently 🙂

Leave a Reply

